Befriending Cardio – I’m on an Adventure to Reach #100byHalloween

#100byHalloween!? What does that mean?

It means that I have decided to begin a Tone It Up Mile Challenge on my own starting tomorrow, September 1st. I’m not too sure when or what the actual Tone It Up mile challenge Karena and Katrina will be using for their upcoming Fit For Fall Challenge. Last year when I found TIU they had their fall challenge early in September, FriskyFall. However, this year they have revamped the challenge and recently announced its coming at the end of September (September 21) to be exact.

I absolutely LOVE Halloween, although I almost never dress up anymore or really put much thought into my costumes. This has not altered my joy for the dark holiday with costumes, mazes, decorations, and how can you not notice the sweet treats! ♥ *drooling!* Plus, I have always strangely like horror and thriller films, even though they make it hard for me to sleep at night sometimes and probably have made me over paranoid with my surroundings.

Now enough of my Halloween gushing(!) back to my decision of taking on the #100byHalloween Challenge. This basically means I am on a goal to get 100 miles of cardio exercise from September 1, 2015, to October 31, 2015.

*”What counts as ‘MILES’? Any cardio activity like jogging, running, biking, swimming, dancing, jump roping and any additional movement you add to your day that makes you glow! By definition, cardio means an exercise that elevates your heart rate and keeps it there for a sustained period of time. Toning workouts, while essential, do not count towards your cardio challenge. We want you to complete both toning & cardio every day to maximize your results and get you to your goals faster.

  • Biking: Divide your miles by 3. ex. 9 miles = 3 miles
  • Swimming: multiply by 3! ex. 1 mile swim = 3 miles
  • HIT Workouts: 10 minutes = 1 miles!
  • Dancing: 1 hour intense = 4 miles

Don’t go crazy trying to figure out the miles. As a general rule, 10 minutes of intense cardio= 1 mile ;)”

*straight from the Tone It Up Website!

I am using the same trackers that Tone It Up featured on their blog last year100milesbyhalloween, created by a fellow TIU member (you can check our her blog here).

Feel like joining me!? Sweet! Share this tracker on your social media and feel free to tag me if you’d like so I know I am not alone out there! (Twitter + Pinterest: @carollsng27 & Instagram: @cs_tiu_ )

I have never been a huge fan of cardio! I will admit I almost always make excuses at the end of a toning workout to avoid continuing on to cardio…(hungry! tired! don’t want to be sweaty! sleep! food! boyfriend time! NO!) but that won’t deter me from reaching my goals this time. After all cardiovascular exercise is very important because it helps work out a very important muscular organ, our heart. I began my fitness journey partly because so many people started getting ill around me and the fear of being dependent as I grew older took hold of me. I want to be as healthy as I can be for as long as I can be.I have so many ambitions and dreams I want to accomplish! I can’t do that when I have to take a break to catch my breath walking up a few steps or taking a rest while playing with my niece and nephew and hopefully future kids! I want little ones chasing ME up those stairs! I want to be unstoppable and to do this I need to make change.

So here I am vowing to do my best and run, walk, bike, swim, HIT, dance, and sweat my way to 100 miles by October 31st. Make a change with me and let’s find our strength and health together!

2 thoughts on “Befriending Cardio – I’m on an Adventure to Reach #100byHalloween

Leave a Reply

