Hydrate With Plant Nanny

One of the habits I’ve been trying to adopt for awhile now and feel I have finally gotten a hold over is drinking enough water throughout my day. I’ve never really been a big fan of water. It always tasted so bland to me, and I never enjoyed that empty taste unless I was really thirsty or probably dehydrated. I always thought people who drank water with meals were boring. Why would I want to ruin my tasteful foods with the non-tasting water! I only drank water at restaurants when I didn’t want to spend more money on a beverage.

I don’t even think I was ever really sure how much was enough. It wasn’t until I started to get into fitness that I started to look up these nutritional facts and realized that hydration was vital to a healthy body. So I started reading more about water intake and almost every fitness blogger I enjoyed following stated that the recommended intake of water was half your body weight in ounces.

GASP! Half my weight in ounces sounded like a lot! Especially because I quickly realized that I barely drank any water! I mean literally some days I can almost say that I didn’t have a cup of water for the whole day. Maybe at times I even managed to drink NO water all day! I usually always opted for soda and juice. It’s not like I never drank water, sometimes I even craved water. Despite it being a bland drink for me, at times it was often refreshing. Mostly this occurred on hot days, so perhaps I was just dehydrated. Oops!

When I started exercising more I started to drink more water because I knew it was good for me in my fitness progress. I would drink before, during, and especially after working out. Still though I was not drinking enough water! So I educated myself to motivate myself. I looked up the benefits of water. I even seriously looked up how to increase my water intake. This might sound silly. I mean all I had to do was drink more water! I knew that, but the task seemed so complex and difficult to me at the start.

So I looked it up to see how other people could drink so many ounces in a day. I found myself becoming that “boring” person I’d roll my eyes to at the dinner table, opting for water with meals and not only when I didn’t have extra money to spend. I finally started using one of the reusable bottles that had been untouched around the house. I made sure to fill it everyday before I left to school and drink it on the way. Luckily my university had several water refill stations so I used those during school.

I was drinking more water everyday now, but how much I wasn’t really keeping track of. I had seen many girls on Instagram posting about water tracking apps they were using. I tried a few but none of them stuck until I found Plant Nanny. I was immediately attracted to this app. because of the cuteness!

Tamagotchi-e1435771477560
Who remembers Tamagotchi!?

You get to choose from several different plant types and plot them in a pot. Once planted you “feed” your plant daily by feeding your body with water. If you consistently drink adequate amounts of water your plant will grow until it’s big enough to be placed in “your garden.” Then you get to start over with a new type of plant! This definitely brought me back to my days of playing Tamagotchi!

But beware as if you neglect your water intake and don’t “feed” your plant it will wilt and eventually die. This actually happens rapidly in a day or two of inadequate water intake! Really puts in perspective how important drinking water daily is for you!12305842_1008090262547461_1212970055_n

Plant Nanny really helped me start up my water intake habit. The app even has a feature to set reminders to tell you your plant is thirsty if you don’t drink water for a certain duration of time. I think this was a great try out and I am glad to have found the app. I think it can be a fun, engaging, and effective way to help you develop good water drinking habits.

12282795_1008089159214238_1728857340_n

Do you drink enough water daily?

Does half your body weight in ounces of water sound excessive to you?
How do you keep track of your water intake?

Join the link-up! Click the link below to add or view other bloggers’ Thursday Tryouts!

#ThursdayTryouts
 

 

6 thoughts on “Hydrate With Plant Nanny

  1. I have never seen these before, very creative!
    I have a waterbottle that is electronic and it (in a less fun way than this) tracks the water drank and helps me know exactly where I am at on a given day. I’ve had it for years and I only twice drank to hit 100% of the daily goal, I know terrible. But even so, these trackers do make it more fun to get the water drank each day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

