2016 Goal Setting for the New Year

HAPPY NEW YEAR ALL!

I know I have neglected my blog for quite some time now. I am so excited to get back into it and connecting again with all of you! It’s no secret that with the coming of the New Year many begin to feel a sense of renewal and a fire of determination in making changes! I am no different, and expect a great many things from and for myself in 2016.happy new year!

Last year I came faced with a great many realities and changes in my life. I began to realize that change is always possible and you don’t need to wait for a countdown for it to happen. Another truth I feel I gained from 2015
was that I am responsible for what or where I find myself. Even when bad or sad things occur and we might feel out of control, we have control. How? By being able to control our reaction, and steering where our lives may lead next.

I hope that we all remember this, so that even when we fall in reach of our goals, we are able to get back up instantly and start a new. It doesn’t matter whether your progress is perfect, in time all those trips and stumbles will become nonexistent and you will find yourself finally where you originally envisioned you’d be.

In the New Year I hope to grow this blog and I hope you will stay tuned and be a part of that. I’d like to thank all the fellow bloggers that have shown me some blogger love and for anyone who has kept an eye out and stayed patiently for my return as readers!

2015 Goal Review:

I had made some goals nearing the end of last year. Here’s the final progress on those!

  • Pay off half my student loans & my credit card bill.
    • I’ve managed to pay off all my credit card bills and have now placed a strict budget to stick to in the New Year! Hoping that to avoid credit cards completely. As for my loans, I wasn’t able to pay off the full half, but am nearing that mark very soon! Beginning at $16,500 + some interest I am now down to a balance of $10, 259.
  • Improve my running abilities!
    • I feel somehow my running has only dropped in skill. This is possibly one of the biggest fitness goals I’ve made for myself in 2016.
  • Start up my fitness again by working out daily.
    • Working out on the daily can be tiring and exhausting! Especially when the soreness really hits you. I’ve attempted this goal again and gain in 2015 and was never fully able to complete a fitness challenge I took on, but this never deters me from my goals. Again and again I will continue in fitness. This year I’ve created my own accountability for anyone needing support, motivation, and guidance in reaching their own 2016 fitness goals. If you want to join me in #GetttingLeanFor16 send me an email at CurlyCaroline27@gmail.com to join the group on Facebook and keep each other motivated and accountable all year long! Getting Lean for 16'!
  • Get organized and clean out my storage items/wardrobe.
    • I was super satisfied by my 30 Day Clutter Free Challenge progress I was able to achieve. I was able to clear out my storage unit and downsize immensely! I finally have been able to rid myself of the need for both bins and cardboard boxes. Now I’m able to keep my belongings in even less bins than I have. I had the most successful yard sale in December, earning more than $200. Afterwards nine cardboard boxes were hauled to my local charity thrift stores.
  • Adopt a budget and save money!
    • FINALLY! I sat down with myself and made a budget for January thanks to the help of Dave Ramsey’s Total Money Makeover advice. I even used his recommended EveryDollar app to help stay organized.
  • Enjoy the holidays but prevent that Black Friday Splurge!
    • I ended splurging on a little too much, but was able to avoid too much balance on my credit card that I couldn’t pay back.
  • Find a company and position I’m proud of.
    • I was lucky enough to be offered a full-time position at the business I’ve been working for over the past year as part-time while I was in school. The people there are great and the owner is quite understanding and flexible. Not to mention I was also offered a internship in a industry I am real interested in!
  • Read a book (because I haven’t in so long!)
    • Happy to say I was able to finish two really great books before the end of the year. Darren Hardy’s The Compound Effect and Dave Ramsey’s The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness. I also started Stephen King’s Christine.
  • Volunteer at least once before the year ends.
    • Sadly I skimped on this goal, which was really important to me. I use to volunteer quite often during my years in school as I was part of many clubs who shared community service events and volunteer opportunities. Since graduating I haven’t really done so on my own, another carry over goal from 2015 to 2016.

I’m still in a debate on how I want to set goals for the new year. There are so many techniques and methods to goal setting and I don’t think I’ve quite found the right one for me. I’m still working out the details of all my goals and the steps I’m going to take in reaching them for the year.

In the meantime I’d love to know what goals you’ve carried over from 2015 to 2016. What goal setting methods have or do you use and what have been your thoughts on them?

2 thoughts on “2016 Goal Setting for the New Year

Leave a Reply

